Howdy, howdy! How’s everyone doing this lovely first Wednesday of August? I’m still playing the waiting game for my Medicaid renewal approval. Apparently, they’re also trying to decide if I’m cripple enough for my long term care services (paying Dad to take care of me). That can take 30 to 90 days. Whatever. Anyway, I decided to post pictures of the grow room! There’s still some lettuce and herbs and bok choy that Dad keeps in rotation on the rail system. He’s giving up on the arugula because it refuses to do anything. Not sure if spinach will stay or become a once in a while thing or what. We’re still trying to figure out what and how much to grow so we eat most of it. Dad’s also started some strawberries (not pictured because these pics are a week or two old), so we’re hoping those grow well. We both love berries. In the bucket system with the cages, there are three tomato plants (a Black Krim, a San Marzano Roma, and a Sweetie) and a jalapeño plant. The Sweetie seems to be doing well. The Black Krim has a nice amount of fruit too. The Roma is being weird, so Dad’s going to try a different type if it doesn’t start producing. And the jalapeño is doing well. If only the fruits would start ripening so we can eat them! Can’t wait for a proper tomato sandwich. Mmm…
Hello, hello! How’s everyone this wonderful Wednesday? I have nothing to ramble about that will take more than a sentence or two, so here’s a quick update on life, then I’m going to read. 1. Turned everything into Medicaid last Thursday afternoon, so I’m just waiting on them to do whatever they’re going to do. 2. Dad’s tomatoes are growing! 3. Three doctors appointments between now (22nd as I’m writing this) and the 31st. Two for Dad (eye test and quarterly check up) and one for me (video visit with my pulmonologist). Fun. Anyway, I’ll be back next week with the regularly scheduled book review!
Hello, hello! How’s everyone doing this lovely Wednesday? Things here are usual. Medicaid has decided it’s that time of year to prove I’m still worthy. Poor. Cripple. Whatever. So, I spent most of the day filling out a 20 page form. None of the answers has changed except how much Social Security I get, but I still had to trudge through the entire form anyway. Now, I just need to take a picture of my ID and get copies of my bank statements from April through July. Easy enough, right? But no. My bank just overhauled their system and even though everything was supposed to be up and running on Monday, they don’t have online access to any statements but June. Ugh. If that’s not up today, I’ll have to call them and convince them to email the statements to me. Once I get those, I’ll send everything to my CLASS case manager and she’ll fax it to Medicaid on my behalf so they’ll realize I’m on that particular program and hopefully not argue with my eligibility. If they had told me a week ago (before my bank decided to “improve” things and I could have just downloaded the statements) or waited until October, which is when I usually have to renew, I probably wouldn’t be complaining. I just hate having to call people. And I hate redundant forms. I just hate the whole process of being reminded I’m a poor cripple leeching off of society. Anyway, it’s late and I don’t feel like coming up with something nice to ramble about. Here’s a pretty picture by Yuumei instead of a real post.
Howdy, howdy! How’s everyone doing this lovely Wednesday? I’m not okay for a plethora of reasons. No one cares. The people who do care can’t do anything. So, let’s move swiftly along! I don’t really have much writerly or bookish stuff to ramble about, so I guess I’ll find something else. Our old shower head broke. Again. It was a fancy Delta with 5 sprays and a lifetime warranty, but every few years the color starts peeling off the hose and the switch to change sprays breaks because, while most of the shower head is metal, that part is just plastic. This was the second or third replacement we’ve had since 2018. It’s just not worth the hassle to get another one. Instead, Dad went looking for all metal shower heads in an oil-rubbed bronze finish (I guess no one likes that finish because it’s pretty difficult to find). That’s when he found The Shower Head Store.
Dad decided to go with the All Metal 3-Spray Dual Shower Head Combo with Hand Held & Rain Shower. And yes, it comes in multiple finishes including oil-rubbed bronze! It’s also a small company that seems to be customer focused still, which is always nice. We did have an issue because they originally sent the single spray head instead of the 3-spray. Dad initially emailed them, but decided to call them after 24-hours because I need the jet spray to get properly cleaned and he didn’t want to wait too long. Anyway, he got in touch with someone named Temar who helped him out and asked for pictures. After the initial phone call, everything was done via email. The shower head was out of stock, but they got it in within a few days and sent it right out. So, customer service and Temar are great. They do however spam you with auto-emails telling you to register your product and review it and whatever, which was the only annoying part of the process since we didn’t even have the right product at the time. Otherwise, accidents happen and they fixed it in a timely manner.
The handheld portion of the shower head is nice and works great for my needs. I require full assistance in the shower, so all of the ability issues I mention from here on out are just random thoughts. It’s not a comprehensive list and every disability is different so my thoughts might not even apply to you. Anyway, the shower head is a little heavy since it’s metal, so if you’re cripple and weight is a concern, you might want to find out if you can handle it before buying. The three sprays are wide (the typical shower head), massage (the single jet), and mist (the stinging bees of doom setting). The first two are exactly what I need. The jet does sting a little from certain angles, but it’s strong and gets the job done. I hate the mist setting. I always hate it. It’s buzzy and stingy and I don’t know what kind of masochist enjoys it so much that they keep including it on shower heads in general. But other than that, no complaints about the sprays. Switching between sprays looks easy enough, but I can’t do it myself because I don’t have the strength or gripping abilities, so I don’t really know if it’s cripple friendly for people with grip issues or not. There’s no trickle valve built in, so if you need to be able to reduce the flow to conserve water while soaping up or whatever, you have to buy an add on. It gets installed between the hose and handle, so the placement is a bit awkward and easy to accidentally activate or deactivate. It’s super easy to press though, so that’s good for cripples with strength issues in their fingers.
The rain part of the shower head is interesting. Tried it. It feels nice. I can’t really use it. But Dad loves it!
So, yeah. It’s a good shower head and works great for us.
Hello, hello! How’s everyone doing this wonderful Wednesday? As I was thinking about what to write for this post, I was faced with a couple of stark reminders of why Medicaid and proper healthcare and assistance for people in times of crises are super important. You know… all that stuff the Republicans are hellbent on getting rid of in order to seemingly help the deficit so some rich people can get tax breaks which will add trillions more to the deficit than they save by gutting social programs. Anyway, I’m starting to rant and that isn’t what this is for.
My first reminder of why these programs are important was the batteries that were installed on my chair today. The old ones were dying pretty quickly and I wouldn’t have been able to afford them out of pocket, so we started the process to get them replaced. When did this process start? A week ago? It couldn’t take that long to just get batteries, right? May 22nd. I started the process on May 22nd and they were finally installed July 1st. Don’t be fooled when people tell you that countries with universal healthcare have ridiculous wait times. Ours are usually worse or about the same. Cutting funding to Medicaid will only make those times worse for the people lucky enough to still be covered. It’s going to make a lot of things worse.
The second reminder is the most important. My friend’s newborn nephew has heart issues and requires surgery. Before they can perform surgery, there’s an infection that has to be taken care of. There’s no telling how long this baby boy will have to be in the hospital. A friend of the family created a GoFundMe for them because the financial burden of having to take time off work, travel back and forth to Seattle, pay for lodging and food, and also worrying about their daughter is already taking its toll. They need help for a situation that no one can ever plan for, but instead of having access to government programs designed to help in these situations, they have to rely on people on the Internet who try their bests to help each other. So, I’m sharing the link to their GoFundMe below in the hopes that some of the kind people on the Internet will see it. Share it on your pages if you’re willing. The wider the audience, the better.
Anyway, stay strong and have a good Disability Pride Month despite everything going on in D.C. We matter. We are not burdens. We are not leeches. We deserve to live, not just survive.
Howdy, howdy! How’s everyone doing this lovely Wednesday? Things here are about the same as usual. A thin veneer of normalcy covering a deep and enduring sense of impending doom. But let’s celebrate something good! Tomorrow (the 19th) is Juneteenth!
Juneteenth is the celebration of the end of slavery in the US. It took about three years after the Emancipation Proclamation for it to be fully enforced, with Kentucky and Delaware being the last to free slaves in December of 1865. So, why Juneteenth instead of December something? Because the earliest observations of the holiday were in Texas, which enforced the Emancipation Proclamation on June 19th of 1865. It’s been celebrated in some form ever since 1866. When black southerners were forced to spread across America in order to, you know, live… (the south was not/is not a great place to be for a lot of people), they took the celebration with them. So, even though it began here in Texas, all of the states eventually adopted the holiday in some form or another. It also became the first new federal holiday since 1983 (MLK Day) when Biden signed the Juneteenth National Independence Day Act into law in 2021. Happy Juneteenth!
Hello, hello! How’s everyone doing this wonderful Wednesday? Things here are okay. That book review I was supposed to do today has been pushed back because there are issues. I don’t know. That’s between the author and publisher. When/If it gets a new release date, the marketing people are supposed to let me know so I can review it then. So, that means I have nothing to ramble about today. But I do want to say happy Pride month to everyone! I’ve seen a lot more hatred than usual on social media this year. It’s gross and disheartening. The MAGAts are out there, loud and proud. Stay safe and remember you’re loved and worthy of living your best life despite what they would have you believe. I’ll try to remember it too. Happy Pride!
Howdy, howdy! How’s everyone doing this lovely Wednesday? I’ve been trying to think of things to blog about, but everything will either make me angry or sad. The administration and how they’re apparently taking blatant bribes (a fucking jet is a sus as hell “gift”) right there in front of everyone and the MAGAts are apparently okay with that (and so much worse). There’s also some cripple stuff I thought about sharing, but it’s depressing and no one wants to hear about that kind of thing except maybe other cripples who would appreciate knowing they aren’t alone (you’re not alone). I also briefly acknowledged (in my head) that it’s my mother’s birthday, but she’s dead and doesn’t deserve anymore emotional effort on my part to explain what a horrible person she was. So! I suppose I’ll just give you a list of books I’m going to read in the foreseeable future.
I currently have a review book for May that I’m working on, plus two books for June and one for July. Here they are:
1. The Whisperwood Legacy by Jo Schulte.
2. R.A.T.S. Revolutionary Army of Teens by Claudia Daher. This is supposedly due out the beginning of June, but apparently there are issues so there’s not even a GoodReads page yet and I can’t find an official cover release either, which is making me question if this book is even happening. We’ll see. I’m reading it anyway just in case.
1. A Magic Deep and Drowning by Hester Fox.
4. Murder at the Wham Bam Club by Carolyn Marie Wilkins.
I don’t usually plan ahead with my for fun reads, but I do have a few I will definitely get to soon.
1 and 2. Rogue Community College by David R. Slayton. The fourth Adam Binder book comes out later this year, so I figured I’d check this one out in case there is character crossover. I also have a second Slayton book (unrelated to this one) that is on my list. Dark Moon, Shallow Sea.
3. The Eternal Ones by Namina Forna. I finally read book two of the Gilded Ones a couple of months ago and want to finish the series.
Beyond that, I have a couple of other series I should finish and a bunch of cozy mysteries I’ve collected and never read, but it all depends on what comes out and if I’m forgetting books that I pre-ordered. What’s on your reading list?
Hello, hello! How’s everyone this lovely Wednesday? It’s super late and I have nothing to ramble about and I feel blah for no real reason except it’s another rainy, dreary day (Tuesday). So, I’m taking a lazy day and just saying have a happy May! I’ll figure out something to blog about next week. Ideas welcome!
Hello, hello! How’s everyone doing this lovely Wednesday? I’m feeling very ranty. Well, it’s Monday as I’m writing this, so hopefully I’m feeling better on Wednesday, but I doubt it. Why am I angry, you ask? (I know you didn’t ask, but let’s pretend you did). The current administration. Why else? I mean… you saw what RFK Jr. said about Autistic kids, right? Sure, he tried to frame it as caring because he’s going to figure out the causes of Autism and fix everything. By September. My dude… how much of your brain did that worm eat? Low blow. I know. I’m trying my best to be civil here. Anyway! In case you missed it, these are the exact words he said regarding children with Autism:
“These are kids who will never pay taxes, they’ll never hold a job, they’ll never play baseball, they’ll never write a poem, they’ll never go on a date, many of them will never use a toilet unassisted.”
If this is what the administration thinks about Autistic people, it’s what they think about all disabled people. It’s what they even think of you two, Hot Wheels (Abbott) and Musk. You’re not special to them. But I digress. This statement that RFK Jr. made is nothing new or original. It’s part of the ableism that’s so deeply ingrained in our society that people openly agree with this bullshit. If you’re not capable of being worked to death by your rich overlords, then you’re just a burden on society and your community and your family. You’re what the Nazis called a “useless eater” which meant you were a “life unworthy of life.” It doesn’t matter that nature or God or whatever you believe in fucked up your genes and made you this way (or that you were involved in an accident or just got old or any other number of things), it’s somehow your fault and you should suffer and anguish over being such a burden. It sounds stupid when I put it like that, right? And yet even disabled people themselves are trained to believe this nonsense. I struggle with it a lot. I know others who do too. But to have a government openly spew this vitriol is deeply concerning.
When you think about the Holocaust (at least I hope you stop and remember it from time to time), if you’re like me, your first thought is of the atrocities that happened to Jews. But in 1939 (approximately two years before Nazis started mass murdering Jews), Nazis implemented the Euthanasia Program which became Aktion T4. In the beginning, they required all doctors/clinics/hospitals/etc. to report any children (newborns to age 3) who showed signs of mental and physical deficits, then the Nazis would encourage the families to turn these babies and toddlers over to special institutions for care. What was the care they offered? A gas chamber. The age gradually increased to 17, then Aktion T4 was implemented which broadened the scope of the Euthanasia Program to include adults in both public and private institutions. This phase of the program is estimated to have taken 70,000 lives. However, the program kept going in secret after Hitler publicly ordered its halt. It expanded to include people who were simply too old and bombing victims and more. They stopped using gas chambers, opting instead for overdoses and the like. But it kept going throughout the war and conservative estimates are that 250,000 people were murdered because they were deemed to be burdens on society. And I’m not even going to get into the horrible experiments that the Nazis did on disabled people. But I truly believe this is where we’re currently heading under this administration. It starts out with innocent enough statements and promises of help and it turns into “let’s murder all the cripples!”. Then things just get worse from there for everybody else.
And none of this is to say America has been innocent of shit like that. We have our own Eugenics movement, which we’re honestly still struggling with in a lot of ways. Murder has been part of it. Forced sterilizations. A push toward the “perfect” family, but only if it’s a mommy, daddy, and 2.5 kids. Etc. Yeah. It’s not a great part of history for us either. I don’t know why we’re letting it get a foothold in our government once again. Okay. I know why (because rich dumbasses just want to make more money for themselves without paying taxes and poor dumbasses believed the hype and decided the rich ones could run our country), but I don’t know WHY… you know? These are openly horrible people. Racist. Sexist. Ableist. Transphobic. Homophobic. Only keep the poor around to work themselves to death in their factories (jobs… whatever) for money they’ll never have time to enjoy (if they even make enough to cover basics). Cry and throw tantrums when anyone even suggests they pay their fair share in taxes. But sure. They have your best interests at heart.
Personally, I’m not convinced that cripples are the useless eaters in this country. Politicians make ridiculous amounts of money for no reason. They don’t even work most of the year unless you count schmoozing and going to fancy dinners and golfing every weekend on the taxpayers dime. They never come to any agreements. They dig us further and further into debt, then blame the few social programs we have so it seems like cripples and regular old people are to blame. Instead, they could take pay cuts, make the billionaires pay their fair share, and eliminate a crapton of the national debt in the process. The fact that they all suck at their jobs and don’t do anything remotely productive kind of makes them sound like the useless eaters and wastes of space, but what do I know? I’m just a scumbag cripple who’s a burden on society.
And now I’m getting uncivilized, so I’ll stop there. I’ll be back next week with the regularly scheduled book review!